The Beginning

In 1803, when the United States bought the Louisiana Territory from France, Territory of Orleans – now the State of Louisiana – was divided into nineteen parishes, the most northerly of which was Ouachita Parish. In 1839 Union Parish was created out of the northern part of Ouachita Parish, and Farmerville was made the parish seat. With an area of 910 square miles, Union Parish is situated in the northeastern part of the state and is bounded on the north by the state of Arkansas, on the east by the Ouachita River, on the south by Ouachita and Lincoln Parishes, and on the west by Claiborne Parish.


Taken from a 1950 Survey of Union Parish.


Tell Us What You Think About It

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s